top of page

LIFE IS LIKE A BOAT


I've been struggling what to write next for my blog since I don't really get enough inspiration these past weeks to make a new post. However, I told myself that this 2017 will be best for me to share life experiences through blogs and somehow I want to challenge my "inner me" to express my thoughts at least in writing.


I'm a 32-year-old guy who wants to do so many things in life and would explore new things that I may consider fascinating. I am currently working in Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia for 6 years now. I used to be alone most of the time, just focusing on my job and hooking up myself with the things which helps me survive my not-so-interesting-life. So whenever I feel alone, I do things which I really love like singing, watching movies, listening to music, taking photos and videos, blogging and most of the time seeking warm comfort from my close friends.


A lot of people do not know what kind of person I am. You may see me as a jolly person in most of my post in social media but you know, people do have hidden feelings. Behind every photo I post has different stories and emotions. I feel like I'm sailing on a boat and my world is like the ocean with so many anticipated storms. I'm trying to be still and I want to keep my cool in every huge waves that I may encounter along the way.


"Life is like a boat that can float. Some row and go! Some blink and sink". - RVM

But you see, every storm runs out of rain and there's always a rainbow after the rain. I've been through a lot and I have learned some of life's important lessons. My life is a work in progress, it is not perfect and it'll never be perfect but I give my best shot in any life's given circumstances. We cannot tell our future but we are always able to prepare for tomorrow and it all depends on us how we navigate the helm of our lives. It's our call, it's our own personal choice.


Being an expat here in the Kingdom taught me so many things in life that helped me cope up with my situation here like how to live alone inside the sandbox and other typical challenges that comes on a regular basis.


I'm not gonna lie that I never think of giving up. Honestly, I easily get discouraged and I even thought of stop trying and just let myself sink in the water but then, my goals and priorities has been my constant reminder that I should keep on sailing and make use of the wind to go to the right direction. But there are times that the wind is not enough to keep your boat from moving onward, you can never depend on anyone but yourself.

In this life's adventure, I've learned two of the most important things which I think will keep my boat floating. One is mental toughness and the other one is zero ambivalence.


Mental Toughness

Mental toughness means that we won’t crumble or fall apart when we face adversity.


Zero Ambivalence

Zero Ambivalence means that we are totally committed to our adventure. We are willing to do whatever it takes to make our adventure happen.

So many challenges and struggles are for real! We work hard and we won't surrender to win life's battle and that is all that matters. My only advice is just enjoy the adventure as a whole, whether it is good or bad. After all, every experience we have makes us who we are and would help us strive to be better. Things happen for a reason, and that is for sure.


And for me, these precious learning experiences makes me the person I am today.

All photos taken using Fujifilm XT-10 + Fujinon 35mm.

Location: Jubail, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

@icopotter

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page