top of page

LIFE IS AS SHORT AS SUMMER


Life is such a beautiful gift and we all know that this opportunity to walk on the path of mortality is only given just once. Looking at where reality is heading, we would see how short life is. Indeed, LIFE IS AS SHORT AS SUMMER. We never know how long we will breathe, until when we will wake up and till when we can hold in our arms the people who made our lives wonderful. That's the greatest reason why I am fond of exploring things, pushing myself to learn new skills, and reaching my full potential. But I believe that we have to deal with life's constant process which we call "change". Going outside the box and taking the risk of stepping out from our comfort zones takes a lot of courage but it is a prerequisite to discover life's greatest treasures. Like the four seasons we normally experience, life is constantly changing. Sometimes it's fall, but it's already winter when snow falls. Spring comes but only for a while, but thank God for Summer it makes life worthwhile.

Been unsure when I was in college about pursuing my bachelor degree in Nursing. All I ever wanted was to finish my studies, get a job and just do what normal people do. When I was at the last stage of my college days, I was encouraged to try my luck in an audition to become a member of a boy band in the Philippines called "Jeremiah". 'Though I wasn't convinced that I can sing, I still tried and luckily got the lead. I officially joined the group and stopped going to school because the management demanded. I had some greatest life experiences at that moment. I've changed a lot when it comes to my personal appearance. Colored hair, night life, parties and gigs were my usual stuff. I decided to quit after realizing that I have to do some important things that really matters. I continued my studies, finally graduated, passed the board exam and got my license. Then I became a full time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ Of Latter-Day Saints. Yes, I didn't pursue yet my profession but instead, I went on a full time mission to serve the Lord for two years.

After I've spent the best two years of my life as a missionary, I immediately grab the chance to work abroad. For another 2 years, I rendered my service in fulfilling my tasks as far as my profession is concerned. I lost my passion. I was frustrated. I wondered. I tried to think some other jobs that would fit me. I tried to apply in a post that requires administrative skills despite of having zero experience in that field. I was hired! I struggled due to lack of experience but I strived and learned what I have to learn.

Living abroad made me occupied with the things that I love to do most which is singing. I've been invited to perform in so many Filipino community events. I got tired. It came to the point that I do not want to sing anymore but the saying that "first love is hard to forget" is true.

My interest in learning photography became strong until I bought a camera. I participated in photoshoots and tried my best to learn its art. I became interested in videography as well. These new hobbies gave me an opportunity to earn some extra cash.

You see, although you only live once, but life will certainly give you the chance to spend that single shot in improving yourself and learning important lessons and make the most out of it. Avoiding regrets maybe difficult but the chance to grow by making wise decisions will make your life worth to live!

Special thanks to Mark Rener Millan and Alfredo Bascones Jr. for the photos which were included in their "Summer Street Style" photoshoot.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page