top of page

MEAT AND GREET

2 more days before I start my annual leave! Meaning, this is my last blog for now until I come back and of course, it's another food related blog! Hahaha. Jeez! I eat a lot lately! I don't know, I'm seriously losing my focus though I'm still doing my best to keep my shape up. I guess it's safe to say to catch up after my vacation because for sure, I'm gonna eat like crazy in the PI. Trying new food/restaurant is always worth it and somehow gives me sort of comfort especially after you're done with your full time work, 5 days a week in an annual cycle. If you are working abroad/OFW/expat, then you know what I'm trying to cry out. Having said that, I'm not gonna lie that my absolute reliever is to feed my hungry tummy. Lol.


Got some new favorite places and restaurants in town. The one we visited last week was THE BUTCHER SHOP & GRILL and is now included in my list of favorites! We were in so much feels about their food and how the place gave us the ultimate pleasure we've been longing for. This South African steakhouse has elevated my "meat dishes" standards. It specifically originated in Johannesburg where their flagship branch is situated at Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton. I was with my 2 closest friends and I can literally say that we enjoyed every bit of their specialties, not to mention the place which is snug enough that we didn't notice the presence of sandstorm that night. Cool, right? Indeed, love the food, love the place.

We had a difficult time to select which courses to order until the Supervisor in charge took time to introduce and explain their menu. They have wide selections of different dishes from appetizers & burgers to seafoods & steaks which was well presented by Mr. Chrizander. I truly commend him for his kind gesture and for being so accommodating.

We then decided to order some recommendations which I almost drool over by just looking at the photos in their menu. Hah! After the waiter took our order, they immediately served the super appetizing complimentary starter which consisted of bread with butter and dips plus the boerewors sausage in tomato sauce which we've requested for another serving. Yummy!

Complimentary Starter

Bread with butters & dips and complimentary boerewors sausage in tomato sauce

Can't deny that I'm a burger lover so it was an automatic urge to try their bestseller burger, the Dagwood burger served with plenty of fries and onion rings. Certainly a must-try! While eating this big tasty burger, I was also biting some portion of Prawn Fiesta simultaneously. Ohhhhh heaven!

Dagwood Burger with Onion Rings

Prawn Fiesta

Grilled and served tiger prawns on a bed of rice with lemon butter, peri-peri and garlic butter sauce


Moving forward, the best we've ever tasted in The Butcher Shop & Grill was hanging in the skewer. Dang, Chicken and Beef Espetada were killers! We've surely savoured each cube of marinated then barbecued meat and mind you, no left over! Haha. No wonder why most of the customers were having the same dish, Espetada is a sure winner and well recommended.

Chicken Espetada

Marinated cubes of chicken, served on a hanging skewer

Beef Espetada

Marinated cubes of beef, served on a hanging skewer

Not just the courses have made an impact to us but also their refreshing beverages. If ever you want to try to dine in at the restaurant, Mojitos are worth a try. And for my dessert, just had a small portion of Creme Brulee. What a satisfying night it was. :)

Mojito

Virgin Mojito, Passion Fruit Mojito, Berry Mojito

Creme Brulee

The Butcher Shop & Grill is not just an ordinary restaurant but a retail butchery as well. Basically, if you are planning to cook steak or will be having a barbeque party, you can choose the finest cuts of meat and ingredients at their specialty deli and butchery counter placed inside the restaurant itself. Another plus, isn't it?

All photos taken using Fujifilm XT-10, Fujinon 35mm

Prince Turkey Street, Al Yarmouk, Al Khobar

Phone: 013 808 5182

Open Daily: 11AM–1AM

Instagram: @thebutchershopandgrill

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page